Awards and Scholarships

IOHA introduced the biennial IOHA awards in 2021, with the inaugural winners announced at the XXI IOHA Conference. The awards are open to oral historians working in any field, across community, academia, or media professions. The award winners are responsible for oral history productions that are innovative, excellent and inspirational. Two awards are available:

  • International Oral History Association Book Award
  • International Oral History Association Media Award (available to an oral history production in any medium other than a book)

2023 IOHA Awards

The next submission will open soon and winners announced at the XXII IOHA Conference in Rio De Janeiro. Watch this space for more information.

2021 IOHA Award Winners

IOHA Book Award 2021:

Eve Wicks, Australia
In Sunshine and Shadow: Reflections on Lithuanian Immigrant Life

Cover of in Sunshine and Shadow: Hands holding a person's photograph

IOHA Media Award 2021:

National Library of China
National Library of China: An Oral History

Cover of National Library of China: An Oral History